Russia together with EAEU countries will launch a supranational cryptocurrency – cryptoaltyn

Russia together with other countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU – Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan) intends to launch its own cryptocurrency in the territory of the entire economic association by 2020. The final name of the digital currency is not selected, the working version is “cryptoaltyn”. This is reported by “Izvestia” with the reference to a source close to the Central Bank, two bankers familiar with the situation, and the president of the Russian Blockchain and Cryptocurrency Association Yuri Pripachkin.

Pripachkin has noted that common cryptocurrency in EAEU may appear even earlier than a single monetary unit of calculation.

Forex Club analyst Ivan Marchena drew attention to the fact that the first steps to create common cryptocurrency in EAEU have already been made. So, Belarus was the first country among EAEU to legalize digital currencies, and Russia is actively working in this direction. (Read more…)